DayZ Reality is no longer supported

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by thevisad, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. Vilemouse

    Vilemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6

    If they can find out how :D
     
  2. seaweeduk

    seaweeduk OpenDayZ Rockstar!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    124

    Unfortunately some party pooper will make a tutorial although I'm not sure half of the admins would be able to cope successfully with updating a pbo every time they need to add new users anyway
     
  3. Soul

    Soul Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    34
    haah time to move the custom loadout scripts server side ;)
     
  4. Vilemouse

    Vilemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6

    True lol
     
  5. Vilemouse

    Vilemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    6

    If that will work :) i don't know how removing the child 999 will affect stuff :D might not be able to :)
     
  6. rosska85

    rosska85 Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    66
    It would be possible. Not that I'm going to say how because I'm not a fan of some people starting with a 'winning' inventory whilst others start with a tin of beans, though it's definitely pretty easy to achieve without Reality DB.
     
  7. Emp

    Emp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can help to update Reality to DayZ 1.8.0.2.
    Principle everything is the same except for the few .sqf files in dayz_server.pbo
    I have compared 2 files dayz_server.pbo from 1.8 version. First from official release, and second from Reality-master.
    So i found a few differences in this files:
    compile\server_playerSync.sqf
    init\server_functions.sqf
    system\server_monitor.sqf
    So you can also found what exactly differences in this files, and you can update reality to 1.8.0.2 by yourself.

    I hope, that helped. Sorry for my bad English.
     
  8. Soul

    Soul Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    34
    There's no need for any 999 calls to do it.
     
  9. rosska85

    rosska85 Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    66
    My server host (HFB) actually released a 1.8.0.2 update for the Reality, so I'm using them. In particular the server_monitor.sqf is very different to the non reality version for this patch which is odd. It appears the default hive version has reverted most of the server_monitor.sqf code to that of 1.7.7.1 whereas the Reality version HFB released has maintained the 1.8 coding.
     
  10. thevisad

    thevisad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    160
    I was waiting for the 1.8.0.2 to come out and make sure it was all stable. I will push the updates out to the repo, this will be one of the last "patchs" I do for Reality.
     
    rosska85 likes this.
  11. thevisad

    thevisad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    160
  12. Gagi2

    Gagi2 Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    59
    when im compiling the new 1.8.0.2 with this string

    Code:
    ./build.pl --world chernarus --with-killmsgs --with-wrecks --with-invcust --with-carepkgs --with-buildings --instance 1 --serverversion 18
    
    i get this error

    Code:
    Merging world changes into ./missions/mission18/killmsgs
    Merging changes for package ./tmp/killmsgs_msn_tmp
    Hunk #1 failed at line 13.
    
    when compiling without killmessages it works so far...
     
  13. Emp

    Emp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can see that 1.8.0.2 version using some part of code that was in 1.7.6.1 in server_monitor.

    So i have tested my dayz_server.pbo that i updated manually from 1.8 to 1.8.0.2, and dayz_server.pbo from Private-master that was updated. And everythink is the same.
    I just didn't add this: (server_playerSync.sqf)

    if ( _distanceFoot > 2000 ) then
    {
    _distanceFoot = 0;
    };

    I don't really know why do we reset _distanceFoot if they larger than 2000...

    Sry for my Bad English.
     
  14. rosska85

    rosska85 Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    66
    Yeah the server_monitor.sqf is confusing me. Because the one Visad has added to the repository is the one that's available from the DayZ forums. Yet the 1.8.0.2 version I got from my hosts is completely different. It also appears that the official one has some bugs, most notable is that deployables don't follow the land contours after restarts, they always spawn back in perfectly vertical. Can't seem to figure out why though.
     
  15. Emp

    Emp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think this is what you talk about:
    Code:
    //Create it
                    _object = createVehicle [_type, _pos, [], 0, "CAN_COLLIDE"];
                    _object setVariable ["lastUpdate",time];
                    _object setVariable ["ObjectID", _idKey, true];
                    _object setVariable ["CharacterID", _ownerID, true];
     
                    if (_object isKindOf "TentStorage" || _object isKindOf "CamoNet_DZ" || _object isKindOf "Land_A_tent") then {
                        _pos set [2,0];
                        _object setpos _pos;
    This part of code in 1.8.0.2 from code that was in 1.7.6.1 mabye this will fix that issue.
     
  16. rosska85

    rosska85 Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    66
    Yeah that's the code for restoring tents. But it's not the cause of the problem. It's like the file is completely ignoring objects placement relative to the ground and is always spawning them perfectly vertical so they clip in or out of the ground instead of resting on it as they should.

    That piece of code is fine, as it's the exact same as 1.7.6.1 and the issue didn't exist in that version. It's something else in the code, but we're going mad trying to figure out what part exactly.
     
  17. Emp

    Emp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    also i want to add that just coming new hotfix 1.8.0.3.
    there will be fixed:
    Object locations on server start should spawn correct. (should fix issue with tents,camonets clipping into the ground)

    All fixes list you can see by yourself in official forum.
     
  18. rosska85

    rosska85 Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    66
    Ah fantastic, so they found and fixed the bug, but haven't said how they fixed it so now we have to wait for 1.8.0.3 to get the damned fix. That had better not take too long as we can't use this version just now because we have base building and this bug messes that up royally.
     
  19. Soul

    Soul Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    34
    any word on the development of realities replacement server package?
     
  20. thevisad

    thevisad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    160
    I have not had time honestly, I have been overwhelmed with RL stuff and Unleashed. However, for the most part, there won't be a "replacement" package as DayZ itself will support all of the functionality that we want to replace/add. The DayZ Mod team has full access to the new hive (already built) yet have not begun translating the stuff over to it. I will mention it to R4z0r and see what the plan is.
     

Share This Page