I currently host with dayz.st - how hard to host on dedi server?

MikeID

Hi There,

A quick question, that I hope someone can help me with...

I currently host with day.st, but I am thinking of taking a dedicated server out, and hosting independantly. I run dedicated servers already (for web hosting), but I am somewhat new to game hosting, and I wondered...

1) How difficult would it be to run 2 or 3 game servers off of one dedicated server? Would I need to split the dedicated server into separate virtual servers, or could I run 2 or 3 dayz software servers from the same dedi server

2) How hard would it be to implement some form of GUI for the server, similar to what dayz.st have for changing some settings, altering player loadouts

3) Is there an open source solution for an admin map, that shows players position, allows spawning vehicles etc like dayz.st have?

Phew! Sorry for the 3 in-depth questions, hope you guys don't mind!

Setting up bliss on a windows 2008 R2 server is as as easy as pissing on your shoe in a public bathroom. Of coarse I have experience working with the servers in the hosting industry for the last 15 years so my opinion could be different from someone who is used to GUI control panels.

In essence you need to know how to use command prompt and basic administration of a windows server. I write my own scripts so automating various tasks is trivial plus I have complete control over DayZ instances that no control panel like TCAdmin can ever deliver. The best part not having to wait for some hoster to get around supporting maps my crew want to play, we just load up what we need and roll. Most of the mapping software like DayZMap can be found here, its an open source PHP site that you setup in IIS and interface to the MySQL database the hive runs on. Same goes for DayZ load out editor. The rest is done though SQL queries to manage database, teleport, update inventory, etc.