Server loading if no players.

Discussion in 'Scripting Discussions' started by Microb, Jan 19, 2016.

  1. Microb

    Microb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello.

    I don't know if it's related to scripting but anyway.
    I've noticed that servers are not showing up in server lists if there are no players inside, so there is a problem-after my dayz servers restarts people can't get inside until I or somebody else using side programs to connect or using remote functions joins the server.

    I've seen many servers in server list with 1 player online but no actual players when you join.
    That could be a solution for me. How is that possible?
     
  2. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    336
    do some searching on this site. I dont remember what exactly was the problem or solution but this has been posted before ..
     
  3. Microb

    Microb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have no idea from what I should start, It's not even a bug.
    Keywords serverlist/empty server giving too much junk
     
  4. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    336
    Okay, yes it must be that the Arma2 server browser is just broken. Here is what my server browser looks like upon starting it, only servers with players
    [​IMG]

    So after a few minutes of testing and fiddling with filters etc I stumbled upon the answer ... or what SEEMS to be the answer.
    I dont know how Arma2 decides which servers to list first as it loads the servers, I would assume it would be the first ones to respond to a ping, but maybe not because it seems to load populated servers first and you have to leave it running for a minute to get to the zero-population servers. And it wont load the same number of servers in two consecutive searches.
    Anyway, try this: Click on the players to sort from low to high. Notice no empty servers ... DO NOT PRESS REFRESH and let it search for a minute. Now my list looks like this when I click on the Player Sort .. filled with empty dayz servers ... depressing isnt it :(

    [​IMG]
     
  5. ElDubya

    ElDubya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    6
    Woohoo! My server is famous! It's in a picture on the interwebs! :)
     
    ShootingBlanks likes this.

Share This Page