Session Lost Dayz Mod Steam

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dilu, Aug 29, 2016.

  1. Dilu

    Dilu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Morning,

    I'm sorry for the bad English, but I need a lot of help from everyone.

    The players that have the Dayz Mod of Steam can not access my server, receive the message Session Lost does not present any reason or to the client and not to the server.

    If someone has had the same problem and can help me I will be grateful.

    Thank you
     
  2. clifdayz

    clifdayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    6
  3. kampf

    kampf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem.
    Spent all last sunday trying to run a dedicated server on my machine, but never figure it out yet.
    Tried re-downloading Arma2 and Arma2 OA in the same folder. Downloading 1.8.7 from repository. Installing MySQL with MSI version and with Zip version. Disabling firewall, changing and forwarding TCP and UDP ports for Steam. Downloading BattleEye exe. etc, look at cfg files from other Guru from this forum, noway.
    The weird thing is that I CAN JOIN every freaking DayZ server I see on Multiplayer list (played on DMW for about 30 minutes a while ago).
    The other weirdest thing is that from the same server folder I can run without problem a stupid Arma2 OA mission, and my machine even get listed on Multiplayer List. So the problem is ?? I really don't know. One thing I'm almost sure about, is that HiveExt doesn't give a sht of MySQL, whathever password or permission i give to the user. From Workbench I connect to mysql without any issue.
    Somebody?
     
  4. clifdayz

    clifdayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    6
    don't put arma2 and arma2oa in the same folder.
    If the game can't connect to the Db, I haven't seen a "session lost", but usually a "waiting on host" or just a hang. Sometimes, windows will block all access to .dll files that came from another system. Right click, check the security tab and look for an "unblock" button. If you don't see it, thats not the issue.

    I can tell you that I started with the Pwnoz0r pack then moved to doing the install myself. I've been working on a guide, I'll pm you the info
     
  5. {SS} Paradox

    {SS} Paradox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would appreciate a link to the guide as well. I have the same issue with the gameserver not connecting to the DB. I've went through all the files and unblocked them. And have all the permissions, usernames, and passwords correct. I went and set up a Epoch server just to see if it was something on my end and it can connect using the same info and my dayz server with no issues. Thanks for any help.
     
  6. kampf

    kampf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alleluhia. I made it. Thanks to clifdayz. I Read his tutorial guide and took note of some steps I didn't found the first time in PrivateServer installation instructions. Now I have to do reverse engineering to find out which was the culprit.
    Most probably are:
    - not using Heidysql to run queries
    - steamappid in text file not being steam dayzmod appid, 224580, or something like that
    - wrong port for steam query port
    - wrong parameters in server.cfg
    - reinstall battleye and change deaultpassword
    I will post here when I find out. I'm so courious about that. Wasted hours and hours of my rare free time...
     
  7. {SS} Paradox

    {SS} Paradox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't have time to go through is guide. But I am going to follow his tutorial this evening and record it via OBS. As far as some of your bullet points. Running querys on heidiSQL shouldn't be a problem unless you are running them across a internet connection. Possible lag, dropped packets.. (<--Never had this issue but it is possible) I have been using Heidi (on a local server) for a few years without issue. The others are normal configs for your server that I have adjusted anyway. Hoping to get DayZ setup this evening.
     
  8. kampf

    kampf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been able to replicate the error "Session lost" .
    Now I'm SURE the cause (or one of the causes) was the number inside steam_appid.txt in the server folder.
    While in my firsts unsuccessful attempts the number was 33930, which refers to Arma2 OperArrowhead, after putting the appid of Dayz Mod , 224580 , as suggested by clifdayz, the connection to my private server was always successful. I try all my previous server settings and now it's always working. The only thing I didn't try to revert yet, it's mysql 5.7 instead of mysql 5.5 that I'm using now. That's why when using the same server folder to launch a dediserver for Arma2 OA it worked at first shot. It seems that the steam version of the game let you connect ONLY to server with the SAME app_id of the game.
    Made a test, put back the 33930 app_id. Started the dayz dedi server, went into steam and fired up "Arma2 OA" NOT "Arma2 Dayz mod". Went into expansion and enabled Arma DayZ mod, game restarted, went into multiplayer browser, join server... Connected!
    Hope my post is clear.
     
  9. clifdayz

    clifdayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    6
    If I'm reading it right, that makes sense - app_id.txt = 33930 will work in the steam/arma2 oa browser and dayzlauncher/"default" while app_id.txt = 224580 will work in steam/dayzmod browser and dayzlauncher + Settings->launch dyzmod as Steam App.

    It sucks that it's not consistent and is really a product of an old game and much difficulty getting everyone (Bohemia + DayZLauncher + Admins) all together.

    Whatever, you got it working!
     

Share This Page