[Support] DZGM - DayZ Group Management

Discussion in 'Script/Addon help' started by ebay, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. DY357LX

    DY357LX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply, however I'm on the latest DZGM version.

    I've done some digging and come to the conclusion that the AsRemixHud is conflicting with DZGM somehow.
    I disabled AsRemixHud in the init.sqf and DZGM worked fine. (However, icons were missing. Even some of the defaults.)
    So my options are:
    Find where the two are conflicting and try to fix it OR
    Remove AsRemixHud and find a HUD to replace it that'll show coins balance.

    If you want to see the AsRemixHud + coins code, it's here:
    https://github.com/EpochSC/SC-2.0-R.../Mission File/DayZ_Epoch_11.Chernarus/Scripts
     
  2. ebay

    ebay OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    296
    @DY357LX You should pastebin/post your actual description.ext, so I can see where the conflict is. My guess is the RscTitles class because that mod uses it at the bottom of its description.ext.
     
  3. DY357LX

    DY357LX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here you go, thanks for taking the time to assist. I've probably over-looked something silly.
    http://pastebin.com/nHvi9CsC

    I renamed the dzgm\defines.hpp to DZGMdefines.hpp as a defines.hpp already existed. (Contains things like "#define CT_STATIC 1" and "RscStructuredText" but no RscTitles.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2016
  4. ebay

    ebay OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    296
    @DY357LX The file name makes no difference as long as the path is different. The engine directly substitutes any #include instruction with the exact contents of that file. I do not use any of those common definitions like CT_x, ST_x, LB_x, FontM, etc. I advise others against doing so too, because they are used in the dialog tutorial most people reference they tend to conflict with other mods. Similarly, none of my class names conflict with any that you are using there because they are all prefixed with W_.

    Your description.ext appears to be ok. By "icons were missing" do you mean the dzgm player icons? If you post your client.rpt file it may show if there are any config conflicts.
     
  5. DangerRuss

    DangerRuss OpenDayZ Rockstar!

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    67
    My overwatch server still experiences random group joining in a bad way. I attribute it to the sheer amount of players dying and respawning. I've noticed it often seems to group people who have died a lot recently with others who have also died a lot and/or people who have been killing a lot. For example, Ebay and I are in a group. We are repeatedly killing Player A who keeps coming back to the same area trying to kill us. Eventually Player A respawns and is in our group.
     
  6. ebay

    ebay OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    296
    @DangerRuss it must be an issue with the Overwatch dayz_code. You've said it doesn't happen on Epoch and @DY357LX also appears to be running Overwatch from his RPT. I've never actually tested this on an Overwatch server, only Epoch and vanilla. I will just remove Overwatch from the compatibility list for now until I find the issue.

    From just glancing over the Overwatch dayz_code I found the problem I mentioned:
    But you said you already tried that fix and the problem persists, so there must be something else too.
     
  7. J.Dominic

    J.Dominic New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    336
    i replied in your othet thread, the short answer is "Yes, this works with dayz 1.8.6". In your other thread you mention having a BE script restriction kick. You will get the same with this script if you do not edit your Battleye filters. I am sure there are directions of how to do that on the release page.
    The long answer is those two things you mentioned don't really have anything to do with the workings of your actual dayz server. And if you install the pwn0zors private server files over top of 1.8.6 server it will not work because that includes the server PBO from dayz 1.8.3 ..
     
  9. Inkko

    Inkko Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    77
    I'm having an issue with DZGM. I am running 1.8.6.1, the groups are extremely buggy. It has been like this for a while and finally gonna try and get it sorted. The issue is that random players will get put into groups, people who were in groups will drop out of groups then later on parts of the group will start to rejoin. Its just kinda chaotic. Not sure what the issue is, I noticed some other people who has this issue as well but didn't notice an clear answer on a possible fix.
     
  10. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    336
    the variable that controls who is in which group must get zeroed out for some reason.
    must be in this file
    https://github.com/ebaydayz/DZGM/blob/master/dzgm/slowLoop.sqf

    i have never used dzgm but according to this line the players are actually joining ... i always assumedbit was just a loose affiliation

    [player] join (group _inviter);

    an issue here is that players might be on separate sides and that wont work ai, dont know about players.
    when a player becomes a bandit he is side enemy [i think]. and changing skins will change the side ... you are what you wear.
    so that could be tossing off the groups.
    maybe change the join to join null group then joinsilent as explained here
    https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Side_relations

    again, just guessing here
     
  11. DY357LX

    DY357LX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone got this working along side Zupa's Plot Mangement?
    After adding Plot Management we'd suddenly lost the "Invite" button.

    Any ideas?

    Here's the Plot Management code on GitHub should anyone wish to see.
    https://github.com/DevZupa/PlotManagement

    Thanks.
     
  12. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    336
    what does your rpt say? Compare the installation directions of this, and of the plot managemennt and see what files they both edit, probably made an error in one of those.
     
  13. DY357LX

    DY357LX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
  14. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    336
    if there was an 'overlap' in the defines.hpp then the server would not start with the infamous "member already defined" message.
    So ... keep digging, what about your RPT log, what does it say?
     
  15. DY357LX

    DY357LX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    336
    It says that because the defines.hpp DEFINES certain classes like rscText. Classes can only be defined ONCE.
    So if you have a defines.hpp with class rscTitles defined, then you add in their file with class rscTitles defined a second time .. your server will not start at all. Error-> Member already defined.
    Since your server starts, thats not an issue.

    So here is your DZGM that displays your "invite button"
    Code:
     class InviteButton : W_RscButton {
                idc = 55514;
                text = "Invite";
                onButtonClick = "call inviteToGroup;";
                x = .3075; y = .200;
                w = .125; h = .033 * safezoneH;
                color[] = {.1,.95,.1,1};
            };
    So the only possibility for your server to "lose" the invite button would be the coins has this same display IDC. So I searched and its not found except in dzgm.
    [​IMG]

    So here is my Official Opinion:
    I dont see anything obviously wrong. And I havent seen the RPT, but you say there are no errors. If there was a code error when the invite button is supposed to be displayed, it would be in there. But its not, so then no code errors.
    DZGM was working when first installed, correct? Then you made this post http://opendayz.net/threads/support-dzgm-dayz-group-management.20298/page-31#post-122021 suggesting you were fooling with some other custom hud and it messed up dzgm and icons ...
    Now 2 weeks later you are posting similiar dzgm issues. I would say you have added/edited/removed so much CRAP that the mission is just broke. The previous post was a different coin than this one.

    If there are no errors and nothing obvious, nobody can help you. Are you SURE there are no rpt errors?
    Start from scratch and only install the stuff that works and is REQUIRED for dayz (paint cars = BS)
     
  17. DY357LX

    DY357LX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    No no, I stumbled across Zupa's Single Currency Storage and decided to use that as a base instead and scrapped the old files.
    Over the past 2 weeks or so I've slowed added things in. (Yes, some of it's crap but it's want the players want.)
    I add stuff, test it for 2/3 days with a friend or two, then push it to the live server.

    I'm in process of trying to use the Zupa coins dialog to force an error or encounter a bug.

    If you'd like (full) access to our test server to see for yourself, feel free to PM me.
     
  18. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    336
    I have about 6 test servers here I can run, but when you are alone its hard to see how multiplayer stuff like DZGM works.

    <rant>
    Players 'wants' are what killed dayz. All that stuff, there is no rewarding feeling when playing the game. No danger, no excitement. Imagine the best book ever written, long, exciting, cant wait to read the next page. But you skip to the end and read that chapter first so you know how it all ends. Now there is no excitement or wonder on what will happen to the characters, its just spending time reading a book and the experience means nothing. Same thing in dayz. they WANT all those things they should be EARNING. So overpoch admins give it all to them. Now there is no real point in playing the game. So players just do PVP (like in Dangerruss WICKED server) and at that point they might as well just be playing Arma2 because all the survival and exploration of the game is pointless, its just about killing. PVP is fun, but I can play any of 100 games that are much better at pure PVP.
    Dayz is best at survival and fear and THAT is what admins should be coding into their servers.

    </rant>
    Its your server, make it how YOU want it.
     
  19. DY357LX

    DY357LX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree with your rant. I'm of the same mentality, DayZ should be difficult. That's part of the experience.
    That being said, I mod the server for a friend because he doesn't have the time or know-how to do it himself. I rarely enter the server myself.

    I'll roll back my files to a back-up from 4/5 days ago (no Plot Management) and players will have to do without it.

    Thanks for your time.
     
  20. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    336
    So, the DZGM works now without the plot management?
    post that mission/server and let me see if I can add in the plot management files you want and get it working with dzgm
     

Share This Page