Walking zombies in 1.9

Discussion in 'Script/Addon help' started by Microb, Dec 25, 2017.

  1. Microb

    Microb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did someone manage to make walk-only zombies in recent patch?
    In 1.9 (and 1.8.9) modifying forceSpeed in player_ZombieCheck
    doesn't work anymore (at least for some zeds).
    Some zeds keep running, what I'm missing? There are multiple variables that control zed movement?
     
  2. Inkko

    Inkko Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    94
    There are other other files that need to be modified as well along with that one, I can't remember exactly which ones but I know "zombie_agent.fsm" and "zombie_wildagent.fsm" have forceSpeed for zeds. I just remember having to client side one of them just don't remember which or maybe it was both and make some changes.
     
  3. Goose QZ

    Goose QZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if this does not help you, but ive only worked with dayz epoch and not vanilla. In epoch there is an "init.sqf" file which includes numerous settings and gameplay aspects. One of these is walking zeds. (They walk at unaggro'd speeds even when aggro'd) perhaps have a look and see if you have a similar file and skim through for a relevant setting
     
  4. Microb

    Microb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's epoch and I really enjoy that config line :p , but it's all about vanilla. I tried using epoch as example but they have different system & variables despite same filename... =(

    Yea, but from where these are called from???
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2017
  5. Inkko

    Inkko Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    94
    It looks like they're called in the actual zed config files in the dayz_code now so not sure if they're overwrittable since they are config files.
     
  6. Inkko

    Inkko Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    94
    Actually I'm stupid and there is a way to do it. I'll post more info after I test it just to make sure.
     
  7. Microb

    Microb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found that there is file that calls fsm from dayz_server so I've pasted modified fsm into dayz_server and edited the path... that made MORE zombies walk but still not all of them.
     
  8. Inkko

    Inkko Valued Member!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    94
    Well I tested it out and about 95% of the zombies walk, then there are the random here and there that run still.

    Here are the files I used, I put it all in the root of the mission folder tho so you may need to adjust a few things.

    In the init.sqf I added this:
    Code:
    call compile preprocessFileLineNumbers "\z\addons\dayz_code\init\compiles.sqf"; // <- This is already here
    call compile preprocessFileLineNumbers "compiles.sqf"; // <------- ADDED THIS BELOW THE DAYZ_CODE COMPILES
    
    That is all you need to do if you dump all the files in the root of the mission folder.

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/s0adao14p2xvx7n/AAAMvE7XJ3guEi-62Ur_4gI3a?dl=0
     
    FallingSheep likes this.

Share This Page