Dayz.st server database hacked

dirtbikr59

That’s right ladies and gentleman. Our Dayz.st server was maliciously hacked. I am not just referring to in-game nukes, ammo boxes, and teleporting. The database tables were completed expunged and new tables were created containing juvenile statements such as, “F@#$ you guys again.” After the first hacking, passwords were changed, Day.st was contacted, and server was wiped fresh. The hackings reoccurred two additional times.

Day.st customer service (IRC chat) was very condescending and appeared the least bit helpful. Is there anything that can be done to prevent further database attacks? I attached a portion of the IRC chat with Dayz.st. I am an engineer, not a software/networking guy. Can someone offer a real solution?

Attachments

• IRC Chat.txt
    8.2 KB · Views: 83
Can you use your own Database with DayZ.st?
If so, get your own MySQL Server and limit access to your Gameserver IP.
If not, search for a new gameserver provider, or the best, get your own dedicated server.

Can you use your own Database with DayZ.st?
If so, get your own MySQL Server and limit access to your Gameserver IP.
If not, search for a new gameserver provider, or the best, get your own dedicated server.

I do not believe you can use your own database with the limited server access provided by Dayz.st. After getting banned in IRC chat, our server was shut down by Day.st and our money was refunded. They believe the intrusion resides with the ARMA II programming structure and that server-side security is nonexistent. Honestly, good riddance to this relationship. Long ago, as a young employee, I learned that paying customers require a degree of respect and understanding. This was ill received.