Shins Modeling for Arma 2 / DayZ Tutorial - Part Three

Discussion in 'Art & 3D Modeling' started by shinkicker, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. shinkicker

    shinkicker Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    198
    So lets have a quick round up on progress made. In part one we laid out what we wish to achieve and we installed BI tools. Part two we created our CA directory under our P: Drive.

    Now we will move onto setting up Oxygen 2! The Arma modelling application.

    Oxygen 2 Configuration.
    So lets start Oxygen 2 Up.
    Go to 'Start' > 'All Programs' > 'Bohemia Interactive' > 'Tools' > 'Oxygen 2 Personal Edition' and select 'Oxygen 2 Personal Edition'
    [​IMG]
    Oxygen 2 Default Screen​
    Now go to 'File' > 'Options'​
    You should then see the following (if your window is small you can drag it out with a LMB click on the bottom right corner)
    [​IMG]
    Now the values that we want to change are:
    • External Viewer: "p:\buldozer.exe" -window -buldozer -noland
    • Path for Textures: P:\
    • DLL Folder: This should be where you installed Oxygen 2.
    • Autoconvert GIF & TGA Textures: On
    Buldozer set up
    Buldozer is needed to preview our models in Oxygen 2, it is just the arma2oa.exe file.
    1. Go to your \arma 2 operation arrowhead\Expansion\beta and copy the arma2oa.exe file into your P: drive.
    2. Rename arma2oa.exe to buldozer.exe
    Test configuration.

    So lets test that Oxygen 2 and buldozer are set up correctly:

    Within Oxygen 2, hit 'F7' or 'Create' > 'Box' and leave all the values as they are (Center to pin, 1,1,1)

    This will create a box for us:

    [​IMG]

    Now lets start the viewer (buldozer) and see our box in the 3 world!

    Go to 'View' > 'Viewers' > 'Buldozer' > 'Start Restart'

    Boom! You just created an Arma 2 model, ok its nothing amazing, but its a good start mate!

    Now hold down your RMB (right mouse button) and move the mouse, you can now circle around the cube and behold its beauty from all angles!

    [​IMG]

    Ok, now oxygen 2 is running just sweet. I won't go into any details about how to use it just yet, but if you want to play read more, then check out the BI wiki page which has a manual

    Part 4
     
    hexxar, Sharkking, mdk and 1 other person like this.
  2. Cliché

    Cliché New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for this series, wish I knew how to model properly
     
  3. FriendlySTH

    FriendlySTH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    19
    how long till part 4 is released?
     
  4. shinkicker

    shinkicker Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    198
    Just uploading now, part 4 is a video.
     
  5. FriendlySTH

    FriendlySTH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    19
    oh ok cool
     
  6. shinkicker

    shinkicker Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    198
  7. Dusty Nuttles

    Dusty Nuttles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    22
    Everything was A-OK until I hit the buldozer part. There is already a buldozer in there.

    I tried a few different things...

    1. Changed ArmA2OA to buldozer and removed the old buldozer and put the new one in its place.
    2. Changed ArmA2OA to buldozer.exe and kept the old buldozer.
    3. Tried the original buldozer.

    Neither method worked and I get these errors:

    No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgDifficulties/Regular.recoilCoef'

    Shaders not valid (mismatch of exe and data?)

    External Viewer: Attach failed. No viewer found.
     
  8. shinkicker

    shinkicker Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    198
    Sounds like a problem with your P Drive. Did you run Arma2P
     
  9. Dusty Nuttles

    Dusty Nuttles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    22
    No, I did it manually.
     
  10. shinkicker

    shinkicker Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    198
    I would recommend you use that script. its the reason you're getting those errors.
     
  11. Dusty Nuttles

    Dusty Nuttles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ok, deleted all the contents and used ArmaP.

    I longer get this error:
    No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgDifficulties/Regular.recoilCoef'

    But I'm still getting these errors before it quits the process:
    Shaders not valid (mismatch of exe and data?)

    External Viewer: Attach failed. No viewer found.
     
  12. shinkicker

    shinkicker Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    198
    Go into your P: drive and rename buldozer.exe to buldozer.exe-old

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\arma 2 operation arrowhead\Expansion\beta

    Copy Arma2OA.exe to P:\

    Rename Arma2OA.exe to buldozer.exe

    Give it another spin.
     
  13. Scrumbee

    Scrumbee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ive just done all of this but still haveing same error as above and yes i did replace the right files.
     

Share This Page