[Tutorial] Custom Loot Tables and Adjusting Spawn Rates

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by AVendettaForYou, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. Kevin-

    Kevin- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone attempted this on DayZ 1.8.1? Just wondering since I really do not want to have to do this all over again just to find out that the script needs to be updated.
     
  2. muggerfugger

    muggerfugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    6
    are there new items that need to be added to the loot, im wondering?
     
  3. Kevin-

    Kevin- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did see some new objects such as different blood types and blood test kits, there are also some new item models.
     
  4. DangerRuss

    DangerRuss OpenDayZ Rockstar!

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    69
    give it a try and report back. Only takes a couple of minutes to see if it works.
     
  5. muggerfugger

    muggerfugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    6
    So we'll just need to readd those items to the loot. Mostly everything else should work i think. I think the major changes was in the mysql database. Could be wrong though.
     
  6. ericpeterson99

    ericpeterson99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    I make massive changes to the loot system because my servers' focus is on player-vs-AI, so we need tons of supplies to deal with the heavily armed, numerous, and well-organized adversaries.

    First, there are a large number of revisions to the loot configuration files in 1.8.1 that alter the way they work as compared to the 1.8.0.3 versions. Notably, virtually all multiple spawn links back to the same spawn item classes have been reworked.

    Second, there is a new way of handling trash. Rather than trash being included as separate items within each class, there's now a separate trash class that's handled as a multiple spawn probability line item at the end of each spawn class, with the individual items being handled within the trash class.

    Third, there are a large number of new items, and it appears that some class names have been revised.

    For these reasons I found it difficult to start with the 1.8.0.3 loot configuration files. It was much easier to start with the 1.8.1 default files.

    Because there's a direction moving towards server side loot spawning, there are more files now on the server side that need to be revised. Previously, the files that needed to be changed were fa_hiveMaintenance.sqf, fn_bases.sqf, and server_spawnCrashSite.sqf. Now you also need to revise:

    fnc_carePkgs.sqf
    server_lootSpawner.sqf
    server_buildingLoot.sqf
    server_spawnLoot.sqf

    Just to be clear, any instance of the string:

    configFile >> "CfgBuildingLoot"

    needs to be changed to:

    missionConfigfile >> "CfgBuildingLoot"

    and any instance of the string:

    configFile >> "CfgLoot"

    needs to be changed to:

    missionConfigfile >> "CfgLoot"

    Any other instances of "configfile" in other expressions should not be changed. Remember that this mod as outlined here replaces configuration class definitions available to the system via the mission file configuration items. If you miss any instances of calls to the two classes noted above, anywhere, you'll get tons and tons of errors in arma2oaserver.RPT relating to uninitialized variables in loot_init.sqf, generally in the first 20 to 30 lines of that script. This happens because a failied call to the configuration system messes up a variable's contents. You don't get the error when that happens. You get the error when the system tries to use the messed-up variable later.

    - ep
     
    Cikez and Kevin- like this.
  7. Kevin-

    Kevin- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    So server loads but zeds nor loot is spawning... Did whatever the tutorial said will try what ericpeterson99 has done above.
     
  8. DangerRuss

    DangerRuss OpenDayZ Rockstar!

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    69
    that means you did something wrong. You have to go through every single file you pulled from the dayz code and find anywhere that it says configfile, and then immediately references either CfgBuildingLoot or CfgLoot,and change it to missionconfigfile.
     
  9. muggerfugger

    muggerfugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    6
    We need to put money together so we can pay money for someone to write us a brand new working tutorial for 1.8.1 :p
     
  10. Kevin-

    Kevin- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I haven't been able to get it working :/
     
  11. New Calpis

    New Calpis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    cant you use cfgbuildingloot instead of all this?
     
  12. Cikez

    Cikez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    3
  13. ATRealMaster

    ATRealMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't replace Compiles.sqf, when I do what I was told to do, it spawned me as an invisible person.
     
    Maycon Ghizzi likes this.
  14. Sharp-Shooter

    Sharp-Shooter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the tut
     
  15. magnitek

    magnitek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this working fine with 1.8.3.

    I've updated the same files the same ways (and checked them twice over) with version 1.8.4.1. Custom loot appears to work, but the loot spawns are so much smaller than they used to be with the same percentage values (ie: antibiotics at 0.08 for instance.)

    Did they change the way loot tables works or at least the way config files pull from the loot tables. I know it works because when I put a DMR_DZ with 0.99 chance at the hospital, it spawns. DMR's don't spawn at hospitals, so I know my config files are working.

    Any suggestions or ideas?
     
  16. ShootingBlanks

    ShootingBlanks OpenDayZ Guru!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    336
    I checked everything and there doesnt seem to be much difference between them at all ..

    just have to fool with the settings until you get it right .. then post the howto ..
     
  17. AtomikMulch

    AtomikMulch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey magnitek, how did you get this working for 1.8.3??
     
  18. hamthejam

    hamthejam New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    horrible colors geez
     
  19. FrankTheDuck

    FrankTheDuck New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having a bit of trouble with this, All the instructions in the tut refer to 1.7 files and having trouble figuring out how to do it in 1.8

    All I really want to do is make buildings spawn anything from their usual tables on all available loot spots.

    After going over various threads I just edited the CfgBuildingPos.hpp to increase lootChance = 1; from what I understand should make all loot piles spawn something.

    Does anyone have a guide for this for 1.8 dayz? Preferably non Epoch
     
  20. Maycon Ghizzi

    Maycon Ghizzi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here. Any one have solution ?
     

Share This Page